Linkin Park “A Thousand Suns” Album Sampler Review

On Friday, July 16th Musique Mag got the opportunity to listen to 6 of the 12 tracks that will be featured on Linkin Park’s new album “A Thousand Suns“. After the listening party they went ahead and did a small review of what they heard. They did not include any of the song titles but did give the run times and a brief description of each track. Check out the review below. Props to LPA.

1) Untitled [4’39 “]
It starts with a long intro with successive drums, keyboard, and finally the vocals in the background. Chester Bennington is the only one to give voice to the first verse in which the rhythm is almost dancing. A big break that recalls the excellent electro Reanimation (the remix album of Hybrid Theory) breaks the rhythm of the song. Mike Shinoda doesn’t make an appearance until the bridge/climax. He calmly raises his voice, then the piece remounts in power. The title ends with an a cappella singers of both.

2) Untitled [4’13 “]
It begins with what could be the voice of a leader who is giving a political speech. An electric guitar riff begins the track. Mike Shinoda raps over the entire first verse. The choruses are chanted by Chester (“Hey! “Hey!”). Unlike the first track played, Mike Shinoda, who co-produced the album with Rick Rubin (Slayer, Metallica, Slipknot), is very present on this title.

3) Untitled [4’00 “]
A guitar and a piano introduces the third piece. The song of Mike Shinoda on the verse is pretty amazing, almost ragga! The chorus is not really identifiable with the first listen. The track runs itself without real structure. Linkin Park abandons the traditional verse / chorus. Note that for the first time in the discography of Linkin Park, Brad Delson places a guitar solo on the end of the song.

Continue after the break for the rest of the review along with the official cover art for the first single off the album “The Catalyst“.

4) Untitled [4’35 “]
On this track, the tempo is slower than the first three. The intensity of the song goes crescendo, like the other titles there is a lack of a real chorus which isn’t easily identifiable. Linkin Park have therefore decided to make an album that will not go down well in radio?

5) Untitled [4’26 “]
Of the six titles, this is without question one of the most surprising. Like what could be “Breaking The Habit” on Meteora, this piece, where Chester sings alone stands out from the rest by its lack of thickness. No guitar is heard before the third minute. Chester repeated many times “I’m Losing What I Do not Deserve”. Potential title: “What I Do not Deserve”.

6) “The Catalyst”[5’42”]
The first single from the disc. Here, we expect a more formatted way in the spirit of what Linkin Park has always offered on the previous albums… Well, no. It will again be necessary to replay this again. For once, we are very far from a “Somewhere I Belong” (Meteora, 2003) or “What I’ve Done” (Minutes To Midnight, 2007). The name of the album, A Thousand Suns, is taken from the lyrics of “The Catalyst”. An amusing detail, we note that the piano part that comes at the end of the piece bears an eerie resemblance to the song “The Great Secret” of Indochina and Melissa Auf Der Maur!

So there you have it. Now we have an idea of what to expect on September 14th when the album drops. Oh and here is the cover art for their first single “The Catalyst” which will be released August 2nd.


7 responses to “Linkin Park “A Thousand Suns” Album Sampler Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s